Spirit Language: The Language of Symbols

Alasdair Forsythe
4 min readMar 5, 2023

Matter is made of spirit, and spirit is made of matter. Spirit, itself undefined, provides defined knowledge. Thought, which is made of spirit, contains absolute “pure” concepts that are clearly defined as either one thing or another. Spirit alone does not effectively model the physical world since things in the physical world are often more ambiguous and nuanced.

In the physical world we communicate using ideas, thoughts and emotions. You can communicate by physical means too, we just call it “action” and it’s so much the default behavior that it’s part of the background. For example, if you don’t want to talk to someone, you just walk away.

In a spirit world it’s the other way around, feeling and knowing are taken for granted and serve as the background against which active communication occurs. To communicate in a spirit world, physical scenes and objects are manifested in a closed pocket of reality like a little world, a little dream world if you like. This is called a Symbolic Space. Dreams are symbolic spaces, as is imagination.

In the physical world matter is all on one plane and connected together, there is one world — we call it Earth. Then thoughts and feelings come and go in bubbles as if they are isolated from the external physical world.

In the spirit world, spirit is all on one plane and connected together. Then physical scenes come and go in bubbles as if they are isolated from the external spirit world. This is the symbolic space.

To communicate in a spirit, physical scenes and objects are manifest within the local symbolic space. It tells a story rather than conveying precise or concrete meaning. Within a symbolic space, a spirit can conjure up a narrative featuring exaggerated or archetypal characters that represent different aspects of the message being communicated.

To understand spiritual communication, some context is necessary, and this can be provided by spirit. The symbolism together with the feeling and knowing provide a complete picture of the intended meaning.

To understand the symbols you need to know what language they are speaking, find the intended meaning of the symbol, and then interpret it in the context that is provided by the spirit (i.e. by knowing rather than seeing.)

Communication with entities that are part of one’s self or familiar is more straightforward since shared experiences can be drawn upon. However, as spirits become more separate, fewer common meanings are shared, making communication more challenging. To overcome this, it is essential to learn the basic archetypes, myths, and tropes that have been objectively established. Just as one would learn a language to travel the world, learning the language of symbols is necessary to understand spiritual journeys.

The more shared experience you have with the other entity, the easier it is to communicate with them. Here are the different categories of symbols and how they should be interpreted:

  1. What it means to you, based on your own life experience. E.g. You were locked in a library accidentally as a child, so a library symbolizes being trapped to you (but not to anyone else.)
  2. What it means in the context of shared experience with the other person. E.g. you guys used to eat pizza together every Tuesday, so pizza could mean Tuesday (but only for the two of you.)
  3. Well-established archetypes and tropes that exist externally to you both, and are reinforced by their use in narrative and myth. Kings, dragons, etc.
  4. Primitive archetypes, universal to all life: the sun, day and night, death, geometry, music, etc.

There’s not literally 4 types, those are on a continuum, I just split it into 4 categories to make it easier to understand. The point is that the more shared experience you have with the other, the broader range of symbols you can use, and the more specific the meaning.

If you are communicating with yourself, inwardly, such as in a dream, you can use all the categories. If you are communicating with a spirit you have a history with you can use 2, 3, 4. If you are communicating with something that has any understanding of human life, you can use 3. And 4 is universal, if you don’t have this to share there’s nothing to say.

I recommend to study established archetypes in order to better speak and understand the symbolic language of spirit.

Learn more at Sorcery.org

★☆★ For more articles and books like this visit alasdair.com

If you enjoyed this article, you’d like my book “Pan’s Labyrinth”.

Pan’s Labyrinth deftly blends fantasy and philosophy, crafting a thought-provoking narrative that lingers in the mind long after the final page is turned. It invites readers to question the nature of reality and explore the profound ideas woven throughout the story. Engaging and intellectually stimulating, this book promises a reading experience that is both entertaining and deeply meaningful.